13 Eerie (2013)

Directed by Lowell Dean, written by Christian Piers Betley and starring Michael Shanks, Brendan Fehr and Katharine Isabelle.

Plot: Six forensic students take an unfortunate exam on an island previously used for illegal biological testing on prison inmates.

13-EERIE-002

Bad news: There is no “Freddy Claws” – everyone thinks everyone else is an idiot for most of the movie.  The teacher is a HUGE dick.  The zombies are impossible to kill and the rules are so shoddy that while head shots are taking out some of them, it’s apparently not good enough for others.

Good news: People fall so easily that it’s hilarious and a drinking game should be made.  Other parts of it are funny as well.  There’s some nice innovation as far as the zombie kills go.  And the cast is quite good for a low budget picture.

Indifferent news: DJ and I do not agree on the overall quality of the film.  DJ would never watch it again, whereas I thought it was too fun not to watch again.  DJ hated the story and I really liked it.  DJ detested the ending (which was sort of open-ended) and I LOVED it.  Thought it was hilarious.  I also gave it jump/scare points, which DJ did not.

But we both recommend it – me because I thought it was really good and DJ because it entertains well enough for a couple hours.

DJ gives it a 42/100 and I give it a 69.

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

