Drag Me To Hell (2009)

Directed by Sam Raimi, written by Sam and Ivan Raimi, and starring Alison Lohman and Justin Long.

Plot: A loan officer evicts an old woman from her home and finds herself cursed.

drag-me-to-hell-lorna-raver-car-old-lady-gypsy

Okay, so I need to start by saying this is a very well made, well written movie.  There are jump/scares in abundance.  Just when I started to calm down another thing would freak me the fuck out.  Also, there was a great cast.  I mean, these were good actors putting on a good show.  Having said that though, we didn’t like the movie all that much.

I’m not saying we hated it because we didn’t, but we didn’t love it either.  First of all, Alison Lohman is stupid from the beginning of the movie and she never really gets smarter.  I mean, why put your career ahead of that little old lady in the first place?  How is she going to sleep at night?  Oh, that’s right, she’s not, because she’s cursed from now on.

Second of all, it is so gross.  So gross!  If gross shit bothers you, DO NOT watch this.  Worms freak me out, so I had my eyes shut through one scene in particular.

Third (and this is a big third because I am such a big animal lover that movies lose points for me when one is killed in a graphic and unnecessary manner), she killed her cat to save her own ass.  Not even DJ is as bothered by this as I am, but even he couldn’t kill his dog to save himself.  Pets are family people!!  You can’t go around killing them because you fucked up.  Geez!

It wasn’t a terrible movie though.  If you like gross things, give it a go.  I gave it 41/100 and DJ gave it a 47.

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

