Hellraiser 8: Hellworld (2005)

Written by Joel Soisson and Carl V Dupre. Directed by Rick Bota. Starring Doug Bradley, Lance Henricksen, Kathryn Winnick, Henry Cavill and Christopher Jacot.

Plot: gamers playing a Hellraiser video game are invited to a party where as it turns out, cenobites are real.

hellworld1

The writing is piss-poor, it’s just bad cliche after bad cliche. Besides Lance and Henry for me the acting is horrible. Asthma boy was ridiculous and unrealistic, decides to go down several flights of stairs instead of just chilling the fuck out, my sister has asthma, we know how it works. His problem seems more mental than physical. They may have wanted us to laugh at different parts of this movie but we didn’t, it just seemed like they tried so we took off points. Somehow wanting to live in Miami makes someone a “typical male”, theres that great writing. The credits song induces suicide, apparently someone is laughing now while standing tall and he explains it…at length. No one in this is likable and Kathryn Winnicks character is preachy and Christopher Jacots characters was a buzzkill. Though my sister does have a thing for him…ew lol. We didn’t mind the story but the execution ruined it. No jump scares but we liked the cenobites and some of the kills were cool. we didn’t hate it but we didn’t like it either, we both gave it a 37/100.

About DJVoorhees13

I don't believe in long winded reviews. I love Jason Voorhees. My favorite Friday is Friday 4: The Final Chapter (even though it isn’t), but I even like Friday 5: A New Beginning. I know the killer is not technically Jason, but you gotta love little Reckless and the blonde woman who keeps throwing him around. My guilty pleasures are Return of the Living Dead Parts 1 – 3. I know they’re not everyone’s favorites, but I can watch them over and over again with no reprieve. I also happen to think that Return of the Living Dead 3 characters Julie and Curt have one of the greatest love story ever told. When I’m not watching horror movies, I’m usually watching old TV shows or reading books/comics. Currently watching Star Trek: Voyager and reading anything by Dante Alighieri.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

