Friday the 13th Part 2 (1981)

Directed by Steve Miner.  Written by Ron Kurz.  Starring Amy Steel, Stu Charno and Warrinton Gillete as Jason.

Plot: Jason’s grown now and he’s avenging his mother’s death and killing anyone who comes near his sacred camp ground

friday_the_13th_part_2_001

In this sequel some very stupid people decide to open another camp on Crystal Lake.  Why?  Your guess is as good as mine.  They’re stupid see.  As most people in these movies are.  Examples: the guy who says the place looks like a Burger King and no one has any idea what he’s talking about.  Or the policeman who leaves his car in the middle of the road to chase a fleeting image of a man – and he’s not even in good enough shape to go that fast.  Or the girl who never has a whole shirt or whole shorts on, EVER – I wouldn’t trust her with my children for the summer.  Or the girl who decides that she needs to “get a few things” before having sex with the cute wheelchair bound boy.  Of course, she never does get to have sex with him, but that’s totally her own stupid fault.

All this stupid only makes the movie better though honestly.  I mean, how short would the movie be if Ginny actually helped Paul fight Jason instead of just standing there screaming his name??

The sequel stuck to the Jason rules, there was good acting and a good story.  Also, a bunch of boobs.  And, especially important to me, Jason has an opportunity to kill a cute little dog and he does not.  Unlike that fucker Michael Myers, Jason doesn’t play that way.

Fun drinking game: take a sip every time someone says “Paul”.  If you took whole shots, you’d die, so just sips people.  Sips.

I gave it an 89/100 and DJ gave it a 94.

“These kids smoke better dope than I do.”

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in horror, movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

