Reeker (2005)

Written and directed by Dave Payne.  Starring Devon Gummersall, Arielle Kebbel, Eric Mabius and Michael Ironside.

Plot: a group of people trapped at a deserted motel are stalked by… something

1319634989810_Reeker_1280x640_Overlay_1280_640_1280x640_19867049

A group of college students decide to carpool on their vacation.  They get along “interestingly” until the driver, Gretchen, discovers that a passenger, Trip, is carrying drugs.  She gets really upset (as I would probably) and stops at a diner to kick him out. Only the diner is deserted.  The food is still hot, but no one is in sight.  Then, the car won’t start up again.  Stuck, the group makes the best of it (some sexually of course), but then they start to die one by one.

DJ didn’t really like any of the characters, but it was a good cast and the acting was fine.  It wasn’t too scary, but it was pretty gruesome if you’re into bloody goodness.  And I usually don’t like twist endings, however, I was impressed by this one.  Technically, you’ve seen it before, just not done quite so well.  In my opinion.

We both recommend it.  DJ only gave it a 55/100 thinking it was just an average horror film, but I considered it entirely delightful and gave it a 70.

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in horror, movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

