The Babadook (2014)

Written and Directed by Jennifer Kent (her first feature length film).  Starring Essie Davis, Noah Wiseman and Daniel Henshall.

Plot: a strange single mother with a strange little boy discover an awful truth after finding a book about The Babadook

the_babadook_4

You can’t say a lot about this movie.  I mean, you could, but you’d give everything away.  And this is actually one of those movies where we feel you need to go in knowing as little as possible.  So, here’s the little: A husband dies tragically and a mother cannot cope.  Their son isn’t doing well either, throwing tantrums and basically making life worse for his poor mother.  And she’s making life worse for poor him.  It’s a vicious, vicious cycle and it’s so depressing.  But then it gets scary.

Mother and son eventually find a book about The Babadook.  It has crude drawings and verses that seem to have come right out of one of those Scary Stories we all read as a kid.  So, now they’re dealing with The Babadook, but the underlying fear actually comes from the mother and child clinging too tightly to the past instead of clinging to each other.  When the movie was over, my brother and I had a long talk about it all and he actually upped my score so much that it went beyond his.  While he wishes there had been more of a straight up horror story, I was actually completely satisfied with the ending and the themes behind it.

It is a pensive movie with a lot of heart.  There is some brilliant footage of some creepy old movies, such as Black Sabbath, which was absolutely terrifying.  However, there is no real murder other than that of a dog.  You know how I feel about that, so, deduction of points there.  Highly recommended by both of us though.

I give it a 67/100 and DJ gives it a 56.

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in Halloween, horror, movies, reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

