The Birds (1963)

Directed by Alfred Hitchcock (directing God).  Screenplay written by Evan Hunter and story by Daphne Du Maurier.  Starring Tippi Hedren, Rod Taylor, Jessica Tandy, Veronica Cartwright and Suzanne Pleshette.

Plot: a snobby woman comes to Bodega Bay and must learn to be a little more tough and a little less silly when birds start viciously attacking people

Tippi-Hedren

Simply put – This movie is a classic about killer birds.  If you haven’t seen it yet, why not?  Where have you been?  You’re missing out.

You’re missing out on gorgeous Rod Taylor saving the day and saving the women-folk.  And the old lady who just happens to be such a bird expert that she’s completely closed off to the idea that the birds could be intelligent and/or hostile.  And the mother in the diner that calls Tippi evil and gets slapped (although she should have been punched outright cause how the fuck did Tippi cause any of this shit).  BYGONES!!!

It’s a very tense movie.  A little slow in the beginning, which DJ doesn’t like, but it picks up.  Most black-and-white’s are a little slow in parts and that never bothers me.  I could watch black-and-white movies all day.  Plus, this movie has rules it follows (which is pretty much, don’t get killed), a great cast and characters you like (although you kind of want some birds to peck out Tippi’s eyes when she first shows up cause she’s annoying as shit).

Low points: no Freddy Claws.  Like I said, people blame Tippi for bringing the birds with her and people look at Rod Taylor like he should know how to stop it.  Asking him 5,000 questions like he’s omnipotent or something.

All in all, DJ gave it a 64/100.  I thought it was a tad more fun to watch then he did though, so I gave it a 74/100.

Why are they doing this? They said when you got here the whole thing started. Who are you? What are you? Where did you come from? I think you’re the cause of all of this. I think you’re evil.” — SLAP!!

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in classics, Halloween, Hitchcock, horror, movies, reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

