The Final Girls (2015)

Directed by Todd Strauss-Schulson.  Written by M. A. Fortin and Joshua John Miller (who may be more well known as an actor from such things as Halloween III, Near Dark and Teen Witch).  Starring Taissa Farmiga, Malin Akerman, Nina Dobrev, Adam DeVine, Alexander Ludwig, Thomas Middleditch and Alia Shawkat.

Plot:  well …… it’s a slasher movie within a slasher movie and Akerman (who plays Farmiga’s mother) is dead, but also not dead and someone named Billy is really pissed off at teenagers in a Jason sort of way, even using similar KiKiKiMaMaMa sounds

The-Final-Girls-Banner

Okay, so, let me try to explain the plot in further detail.  I don’t even think it’s that hard it’s just going to take more than a few words.  You see, Akerman (an actress) and Farmiga are in a horrible car accident (which is very unpleasant onscreen) and Akerman dies.  3 years later, Akerman’s famous horror movie is being screened at a local theater and Farmiga is asked to come.  But there’s a fire at the theater and Farmiga and friends get sucked into her mother’s movie.  There, they meet up with Akerman and the other actors (who don’t know they’re in a movie) and they all must work together to survive (or not to survive, they decide rather quickly) the horror that awaits them all.

It’s definitely a movie that should be enjoyed during the Halloween season.  It’s a throwback to all those great horror movies of the 80’s.  It’s also quite hysterical.  We laughed A LOT!  We also felt like crying in parts.  The movie is surprisingly touching and awfully upsetting in certain areas (like the bookcase scene, for example).  We also loved the cast.  I particularly enjoyed Ludwig who I didn’t know very well before this.  And as far as the ending goes, I KNEW IT!!  I’m not telling you what I knew, but I knew it!

DJ did not enjoy the movie quite as much as I did.  He didn’t find anyone hugely likable, but I liked a lot of them, even if they were strange.  I think he somehow had higher expectations that may have been a little unrealistic.  Although, I will admit, they totally copped out with boob shots.  Nothing was showed.  And it was all like, “oh, here comes the gratuitous boob sh… oh, wait, no… they panned away”.  Stupid.

However, I thought it was original, loved the dialogue and thought the ending was phenomenal.  (DJ didn’t.)

Extra note to look for: the girl who takes all the Aderall is the funniest part of the movie. DJ agrees.  Her hyperactive strip tease is amazing.  I do not know how she did it, but it was the best acting in the whole movie.

I give it a 72/100.  DJ gave it a 55.

“You just fucked with the wrong virgin.”

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in classics, comedies, Halloween, horror, movies, reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

