World War Z (2013)

Subtitled:  8 Reasons to Watch World War Z at Halloween

or Any Other Day of The Year

world-war-z-3

ONE – It’s fucking scary!  These zombies are quick.  And nasty.  And when Brad Pitt gets stuck in that lab with one, you try not to cover your eyes just a little.

TWO – Good people live.  Good people die, too, but good people live.  Including Segen, who me and DJ were rooting for the whole time.  Even more than Brad probably.

THREE – It’s original.  The story behind the outbreak, the weakness, the cure – it’s all something that’s never been done before.  At least, not on an epic platform such as this.

FOUR – The cast.  Brilliant!!  As are the characters.  Brad’s wife (Mireille Enos), for instance, is one of my favorites.  She is so resilient.  So, so strong and kind, even throughout the zombie apocalypse.  And the way she latches onto Tomas (Fabrizio Zacharee Guido) is heart-breaking.  I mean, she and Brad immediately consider him family as soon as his own family is gone.  They even hug him numerous times throughout the film just like they hug their own daughters.  It’s beautiful and humane and you don’t see enough of that in horror movies.

World-War-Z-trailer

FIVE – It doesn’t hold anything back.  It’s a beautiful movie, but it’s also cruel.  The opening sequence alone is so jarring, it’s unbelievable.  And don’t get too attached to people.  You meet them, 5 minutes later they may be dead.  It’s realistic, like The Walking Dead.  But unlike The Walking Dead, it has happiness and hope, which is refreshing.

SIX – The story of the 10th man.  It’s amazing.  Something I certainly would never have thought of.  And I’m not going to tell you about it because I want you to watch it and see if it hits you the way it hit me.

SEVEN – The direction.  The script.  The fabulous special effects.  Etc. Etc. Etc.

EIGHT – You know how we feel about Freddy Claws and people working together, but this movie fails sometimes and I still love it.  So that’s a reason to watch.  Sure, some people work very nicely with Brad, but other people move his family to a “safe zone” because they haven’t heard from him.

maxresdefault

So, watch the unrated version if you can.  The gore is more and it’s sweet!  I really have nothing I don’t like about this movie.  I watch it ALL the time.  I have a WWZ addiction. Obviously, I give the movie an even 100, which is difficult to obtain I think.  DJ loved it, too, but not quite as much.  He gives it a 93/100.

“Mother Nature is a serial killer. No one’s better. Or more creative.”

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in Halloween, horror, movies, reviews, zombies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to World War Z (2013)

  1. The Tenth Man principle is the perfect antidote to group-think. All organizations should employ that principle. One thing I liked about World War Z is it is a family-friendly zombie movie. Family is at the heart and center of the story. I wrote a short post on World War Z called “Three Principles in Problem Solving.” If you would like to read it, here is the link: https://christopherjohnlindsay.wordpress.com/2016/01/29/world-war-z-2013/
    I am open to any constructive feedback.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

