Jack the Reaper (2011)

Written and directed by Kimberly Seilhamer.  Starring Tony Todd, Sally Kirkland and Chris Bruno.

Plot: a group of teens on a field trip to study the industrial revolution run afoul of Railroad Jack

184345_147599848634582_142739899120577_290100_5863428_n

This is a movie with a great set up.  It’s been used before, but we appreciate the whole jig.  Why?  Because the only way you’d get me and DJ into a deserted carnival would be to crash the bus we were in.  It makes it super realistic.  A lot of times we take the “black” approach to horror movies and say “Oh, Hell NO!!” and run the other way, out of the haunted house, away from the creepy children, off the deserted train car, etc. etc.

So, here me and DJ are, actually in peril and it’s quite disturbing.  There’s a low-budget, but there’s still really good effects.  The writing was good, the directing was good, the acting was good.  It was genuinely a good film. We really enjoyed it, budget or no.  Also, it has the funniest chase scene we’ve ever seen.  It involves walls of glass which I don’t ever remember any other movie using.

The only annoying aspect of the movie was the voice over.  Ignore it if you can.  Drown her out.  The movie would have been better without it.  It brings nothing to the story and is ridiculous.

We really liked it though.  DJ gave it a 63 and I gave it a 67/100.

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in horror, movies, reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

