The Vatican Tapes (2015)

Directed by Mark Neveldine.  Written by Christopher Borrelli, Chris Morgan and Michael C. Martin.  Starring Olivia Dudley, Michael Pena, Dougray Scott and Djimon Hounsou.

Plot: 2 priests attempt to exorcise a young woman

maxresdefault

I’d love to start rambling on and on about how different this movie is than it’s exorcism predecessors, but I can’t.  It’s not that different at all.  There’s fire and ugly faces from pretty girls and flesh wounds and priests and someone named Pete who was just too pretty to die, but you knew it was coming because this is an exorcism movie and not a romantic comedy.

I do have to admit though, with a lot of reservation, that DJ didn’t like the movie.  But I did.  Loved it actually.  DJ used to be a bit of a biblical scholar and as events occurred he had to explain to me that this was actually prophecy in the Bible.  Which made me like it more.  Very realistic.  But aside from all that, DJ hated the story.  Felt it was incomplete.  I felt it rocked.

The biggest difference between me and DJ’s attitudes was the ending of the movie.  I’m not going to give away too much because I loved it.  DJ thought it was lacking though.  He felt it was incomplete.  I myself just really hope they make a 2nd movie.  Maybe he’ll enjoy that one.

What we agreed on was the great motive, the innovation, the solid rules, the effects and even the intact Freddy Claws.  But if anyone wants to sit down and watch it again, I’ll bring the chips.  DJ won’t attend I’m afraid.

He gave it a very scary 35.  I gave it an 80/100.

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in horror, movies, reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

