Final Destination 2 (2003)

Directed by David R. Ellis.  Written by Jeffrey Reddick, J. Mackye Gruber and Eric Bress. Starring A.J. Cook, Michael Landes, Ali Larter, Jonathan Cherry and Tony Todd.

Plot: a young woman has a premonition that stops several people from dying in a pileup, but then Death comes for them anyway

Final_Destination_2_2003_HD_720p_3_85_Gb_DTS_IT

In this movie, my 2nd fave of the franchise, Kim (Cook) has a premonition that she and a large group of other people will die in a pileup on the highway.  So, she does the only reasonable thing – she parks her car right in the way of everyone and refuses to let anyone else on the highway.  That pisses them off, but it saves their lives as well.

This movie has a little better Freddy Claws than the first one.  For one thing, no one treats her like she’s a monster because she got a vision.  For another thing, when people start dying in horrible ways, these people band together.  It doesn’t help, but they band and that’s nice.

This one also dials up the gore a little more.  There’s more blood, more blood splatter, death scenes that are much more horrifying to imagine.  It’s a great follow up.  And there are boob shots this time.

Again, I have fond memories of this one.  My brother and I watched it with our mother (just like the first one) and at the end, she laughed so fucking hard at the final death scene that we immediately thought ‘Hey, so this is where we get it from.’

Also, I think the fact track is cool, but the interviews can get a little pretentious.  You should party hard and drink every time someone ‘sees a sign’.  And my favorite death scene: poor, poor Jonathan Cherry, who should give me a call in real life.  *wink*

I give it an 87/100.  DJ gives it an 82.

“See, this is what happens when you buy a gawdy watch.”  -DJ after the first death scene

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in horror, movies, reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

