Playdate (2012)

Directed by Andrew C. Erin.  Written by Kraig X. Wenman.  Starring Marguerite Moreau, Richard Ruccolo, Natalie Alyn Lind, Abby Brammell, Julien Dean Lacroix and Aidan Potter.

Plot: a strange family moves in next door to a cookie-cutter family and weird things begin to happen

NNVG10006927_Playdate_XBox1920x1080

More of a lifetime mystery, the cover is very misleading.  It’s still a solid movie though with solid acting.  The strange family consists of a mother who may just be mentally ill.  It seems sometimes that she has no idea what she’s saying or that it doesn’t really make any sense.  There’s also a teenage boy that doesn’t want to talk to anyone, just wants to stare at them from his window.  And there’s a little boy that plays a little too rough and is quick to shed his own blood.

The “normal” family consists of wife, Emily, who is the first to pick up on all the odd behavior.  Her husband, who unfortunately for everyone, refuses to see anything as odd.  And a really cute daughter, Olive, who sadly becomes very enamored with the little boy next door.

I have nothing really terrible to say about this one.  DJ didn’t watch it with me, but I think he would have liked it, too.  It was pretty realistic in terms of human behavior.  Which is a big thing for us.  And aside from a few holes in the story (like the open ending) it’s a fun watch.  I did however take off a few points for a movie that -once again – only gave us a cute dog so that they could kill it.  Boo!

I gave it a 60/100.  I liked it.  TV movie or not, give it a shot.

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in horror, movies, reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

