The Invitation (2015)

Directed by Karyn Kusama.  Written by Phil Hay and Matt Manfredi.  Starring Logan Marshall-Green.

Plot: an ex-husband (Green) is invited to his ex-wife’s for dinner, but she and her new husband may have sinister intentions

i1

First of all, I wanted to like this movie.  I love Logan Marshall-Green.  I think he’s very talented and I don’t think he’s in enough stuff.  So, just know that I was going in with a clear and open mind, if not a little persuaded to actually like it.

Second of all, DJ didn’t watch it with me.  He knows he doesn’t like films like this, but again, LMG persuaded me otherwise.

Third of all, they killed a dog – excuse me, a coyote – in the first 2 minutes of the film.  I knew that was not a good omen for the rest of the movie, but LMG got me to push on and it is very unfortunate that I did.

I hate this movie.  I mean, I really hate it.  The end was the best part.  And not because it was a twist worth talking about.

****************SPOILERS AHEAD*****************

maxresdefault

In the movie, poor LMG gets an invitation from his weird ass ex-wife to dinner.  See, his ex-wife and her new hubby have been “missing” for a while and they want to tell all their “friends” where they’ve been.  Well, as it turns out, they’ve joined a cult.  And this isn’t even really the spoiler.  You understand this bit of news pretty early on.

This cult nonsense is enough to get any rational human being out the door, but in the movie, only LMG wants to go.  Even his new flame talks him out of it though.  Poor LMG.

Now for the spoilers, this cult wants everyone outside the cult DEAD!  Yup.  And they have to do this at dinner.  People are supposed to be poisoned, but that goes to shit when LMG goes off, so it ends up being a fight to the death.  A fight that LMG and new flame win, but OH…………..

I forgot to mention that LMG’s ex-wife and hubby have lit a red candle outside during the process of the night.  While watching it, I had a creepy-eepy feeling that this was to let whomever know they were starting the dinner death scene, but oh, there was more to it than that.  See, when LMG and flame walk out of the death house alive, they look around the city and see nothing but red lights.  Red lights are lit up everywhere.  Now, LMG and flame are going to – in the words of The Warriors – have to bop their way back to some hopefully safe place that exists somewhere.  But at the end, we’re not sure there is such a place anymore.

the-invitation_argument

Points for the cast.  Aside from LMG everyone does their job and more.  I believed every silly word of it.  I’ll give it ending, too.  And points for atmosphere cause the movie is tense as hell.  But everything else – likable characters, motive, realism, Freddy Claws, story, etc. – it fails for.

If you want to do it, I can’t stop you, but don’t.  I give it a 15/100.

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in horror, movies, reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

