Pet Sematary (1989)

Directed by Mary Lambert.  Written by Stephen King.  Starring Dale Midkiff, Fred Gwynne, Miko Hughes, Blaze Berdahl and Denise Crosby.

Plot: animals (and people) come back from the dead when buried in the pet cemetery

pet-sematary-1

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you should have watched this already.  Sure it’s full of people making poor decisions, but it’s also one of the greatest horror movies of all time.  Here’s  reasons why:

  1. If you’ve ever read the book, which is one of the scariest books of all time (our mother can’t finish it), the movie is a very nice adaptation.  Sure, there’s no Norma and we do miss her, but she can be lived without.
  2. Highly original idea.  People don’t write about graveyards bringing people back from the dead.
  3. Great casting choices.  Now, I do have a problem with Denise Crosby.  I mean, as a person I’m sure she’s cool, but I’ve never seen her as Rachel.  Everyone else is spectacular though.  Fred Gwynne is perfection.  And Miko, he gets his own number.
  4. Miko Hughes.  Cute, even dead.
  5. Memorable death scenes.  Every single time I see Jud go down I am pained.  Hell, I’m pained right now just thinking about it.

    pet-sematary-pascow

    The ground beyond is sour.

  6. Zelda.  One of the most terrifying characters of all time.  She gives DJ nightmares just thinking about her.  To be honest, she’s the reason even I won’t watch this movie alone.
  7. Ellie.  The most sensible 8-year-old in all of moviedom.  She has sensible thoughts and says sensible things.  It’s refreshing in a movie filled with fools.
  8. The following of simple rules.  We know many movies gets this concept wrong, but King is on top of his game.  You put a body in the cemetery and it comes back, WRONG, and game over.  That’s it.  Those are the rules.  No ifs, ands or buts about it.
  9. The cool ending credits song.  Because if you’re going to end a movie this good, you gotta do it in style.
  10. A terrifying story.  A story filled with so much love and so much agony that it’d be beautiful even if it weren’t so damn frightening.
    PetSematary_Gage

    Now I want to play with you.

    DJ and I love this movie.  Aside from the unlikable characters and the lack of intelligence, it’s an A+.  Together, we give it an 88/100 and tell you to watch it.  Now.

Sometimes, dead is better.

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in horror, movies, reviews, stephen king and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

