Within (2016)

Directed by Phil Claydon.  Written by Gary Dauberman.

Starring Michael Vartan, Erin Moriarty, Nadine Velazquez, JoBeth Williams, Blake Jenner, and Tom Wright.

Plot: a widower moves his daughter and new wife into a new house for a fresh start, but of course their ideal suburban home is anything but ideal

Within-2016-Full-Movie-Online

This movie starts out like any other “haunted house” movie.  Young Hannah (Moriarty) starts seeing strange things.  Doors opening and closing by themselves.  Furniture suddenly moved from it’s spot.  But even she ignores these first clues that something is wrong.  Then she sees a man in her attic and all bets are off.  She wants out of the house, but her father (Vartan) doesn’t believe her.  You see, Hannah’s been trouble before and her father can’t believe a word she says.  Her stepmother (Velazquez) sort of has her back, but won’t really go against her husband’s word, so she’s essentially useless.

Now, I didn’t really like this film when it came down to it and DJ almost hated the thing by the end, but I have to tell you that once you see the man that Hannah saw, it is just awful.  He totally freaks me out.  Very zombie like dude that sort of glides around rather than walking.  Honestly, sitting here typing this I keep looking behind me because the movie is still that much with me.  It was genuinely unsettling and in that respect it did the job that all scary movies are supposed to do.

However, there are a lot of things left up in the air when the movie ends.  We wondered where certain bodies went to.  Whether the cat left the movie because he knew it was about to start sucking ass.  It was unrealistic and there were no rules whatsoever.  And DJ is absolutely sick of the indestructible monster.

maxresdefault

The cast delivers great performances though.  I believe everyone is who they are supposed to be.  The effects are also very good.  Like I said, the man isn’t pretty.  Whoever did the makeup in this one was a genius.  It’s subtle, but terrifying.  It’s just a shame that the end of the movie shit the bed.  We really were with this whole thing almost to the end and then it lost us.  Completely.  But do I recommend it?  Yes.  Our scores aren’t high, but watch for the thrill of it.  If it had ended differently I think it may have been one of my favorite movies of the year.

DJ only gave it a 26, but I gave it a 43.  See it for yourself.

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in horror, movies, reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Within (2016)

  1. I feel like I need to get more into horror movies. I feel like there’s a whole genre out there that I’ve just ignored for such a long time, probably because it scared me, but I’m intrigued more and more by it recently. I thought probably thank movies like The Babadook and The Witch for that. Great review, might check out a couple more of your reviews. I can always use recommendations!

    Would you be interested in sharing your work on Movie Pilot? I’d like to invite you to join the platform, and I’d love to hear from you so I can to expand on that. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail, my contact details are on my “About” page. Hopefully talk soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

