Squirm (1976)

Written and directed by Jeff Lieberman.  Starring Don Scardino, Patricia Pearcy and R.A. Dow.

Plot: a storm causes power lines to fall, drawing millions of man eating worms out of the ground

squirm-worm-body_1050_591_81_s_c1

Let me start by telling you a little tidbit about myself that is completely strange: I have vermiphobia.  Vermiphobia is the fear of worms.  You’re probably thinking, “Tara, why such an irrational fear?  Worms can’t hurt you.”  Well, I have no answer for you.  It just is what it is.  Next question: “Tara, why would you watch such a movie knowing you have vermiphobia?”  Answer: I like to be scared.  And I did watch it primarily through my fingers.

Now, about this fun little movie itself.  Because it is fun to watch.  Sure, the soundtrack sucks, there are a couple of scenes that don’t make any sense and the worms seem to be magical – disappearing and reappearing at will.  But the rest of it is aces.  The accents are so thick that you can’t understand them half the time, but that’s so bad it’s great.  You can make your own dialogue it you want to.

The people are likable.  The specials were really, really good for 1976.  And the ending was cool.  Gross, but cool.  There’s a Roger Monster that I suspect will be in one of my nightmares somewhere down the line.  Some people lived though and that’s always nice when a movie can creep you out and still keep some people alive.

Me and DJ agreed on this one.  We really liked it.  Gave it a 65.  If you can find it, see it.  It is classic.

About TaraRomero

I love 28 Days Later and insist that they are zombies. Infected zombies, but zombies. It's not like they're coming back, are they? No. I also have a strange obsession with Brainscan because I have a stranger obsession with Edward Furlong (mostly pre-drugged up Edward - bless his heart, I've met him and he's lovely and I'll love him till I die). Besides horror I'm addicted to writing about everything I see and think and feel. Also, I read a lot and watch too many game shows. Currently reading Poe and watching Idiotest.
This entry was posted in classics, horror, movies, reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

